Posted on

First Entry: First Blood

Let’s start a foundation by explaining who I am and where I came from. In the beginning like every Infantryman I started at 30th AG something or other at Ft. Benning, GA. I was thinking what everyone else was probably thinking which was “What the hell did I get myself into?!” The feeling wore off once I hit the famous Sand Hill and got to my unit. I will say that I trained with and graduated from Alpha Co 2/58 Infantry in October of 2002. The one thing I learned as an Infantryman was Arrogance and rightfully so. I am an Infantryman, a legacy of brave warriors who have fought and still fight for this free country everyday. I have trained with some of the best soldiers and funnest hardware anyone could ask for. As an Infantryman nothing is above and beyond the call of duty and that is exactly why most Infantryman are some of the smartest workers around. Grunts will get the Work Smarter, Not Harder part of that. I digress, all this arrogance is not without reason, we are sent all over the world to confront the enemies of our Country. I am not going there to lose, I trained to be the best so I could I get home. Then after a couple of years like most Infantryman I was promoted to Sergeant and was responsible in making sure not just myself got home but my brothers in arms.  The Infantry is unlike anything in this world, it’s a brotherhood, it’s a write of passage, it’s a whole new outlook on life. So when I complain in further posts you have a foundation in knowing that in the Infantry when a Man tells another Man something, regardless of rank, the other Man will get it done. We even think we are better than each other so rather than say I was a Ranger, 10th Mountain, or 1st Cavalry I’ll just say I was in Major Division who was deployed multiple times to Iraq. In reality I can’t say which is better or worse but I do know my personal experience and the U.S. Military should never be considered weak, except for the Air Force. Anyhow, maybe I was joking, I went to combat a total of two tours comprised of over two years in Iraq. There are probably soldiers who have more tours now but I want to be a little biased and say my tours were at the beginning of the war when shit was going down and we had to burn our own caca and eat our own Ramen our family sent to us. Combat is another day though, tonight at this late hour I want to sum up my foundation by saying that Life has changed for me since 2002. Life was simpler in the days of War. If you came home at the end of the day or night or mission and you were alive then it was a good day. Things get to complicated with all this free time, people complain too much about the little things in life I am so grateful for and appreciate. Shit I get to go home everyday and see my family. You know how many people take that for granted? All this and more if you care to dare. I’ll try to make it interesting. I’ll let you in on the private life of Private who became a Sergeant and then a civilian. It may not be that interesting but it’s not boring I promise you that./Nothing Follows/

About soldierspoem11b

I am a Father. I am 32 until March. (at which time I will update this) I am an Infantryman. I have seen War. I have Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder. I love the Walking Dead. I am on mission to find out who I am.

Leave a Reply

